JIPAM Prize - 2000




JIPAM, Journal of Inequalities in Pure and Applied Mathematics, is a peer-reviewed electronic journal which aims to foster and develop further growth in all areas of mathematics relating to inequalities. To encourage the submission of manuscripts of the highest quality the JIPAM management will award an annual prize to the best published paper. 




The assessment criteria for the judging of the papers is:

  1. Impact
    Does the paper have, or is it likely to have a major impact in its field of investigation.
  2. Relevance
    Does the paper explain its relevance in regards to previous documented works.
  3. Presentation
    Is the paper well presented. Is it clear, logical, succinct and concise. Pay some attention to the quality of its English.
  4. Appropriateness
    Is the technique applied to the problem appropriate, or would another approach be more fruitful.


Ex-Officio Members for the JIPAM prize

Prof. S.S. Dragomir
Assoc. Prof. P. Cerone
Assoc. Prof. N.S. Barnett
Dr. A. Sofo
Dr. J. Roumeliotis

The ex-officio members will have no voting rights and will also be ineligible for the prize.



Judging Panel for 2000 Volume

The judging panel for 2000 is as follows:

Prof. L. Losonczi
Debrecen University
Prof. J.E. Pečarić
University of Zagreb,

Prof. Z. Paleš
Debrecen University

Prof. L.E. Persson
Luleć University of Technology 

Prof. C.E.M. Pearce
The University of Adelaide,
The members of the judging panel will be ineligible for the prize.




  • The 2000 JIPAM best paper award
  • A small monetary reward



Nominations for the Prize

The five papers below have been nominated by the judging panel.

Paper 17: A New Look at Newton's Inequalities 
by C.P. Niculescu
Paper 10: Weighted Modular Inequalities for Hardy-Type Operators on Monotone Functions
by Hans P. Heinig and Qinsheng Lai
Paper 14: Regularity Results for Vector Fields of Bounded Distortion and Applications
by A. Fiorenza and F. Giannetti
Paper 1: Power-Monotone Sequences and Fourier Series with Positive Coefficients
by L. Leindler
Paper 7: Reverse Weighted Lp - Norm Inequalities in Convolutions
by Saburou Saitoh, Vu Kim Tuan and Masahiro Yamamoto



The judging panel for 2000 have decided that the inaugural JIPAM prize should be awarded to:

Paper 17: A New Look at Newton's Inequalities 
by C.P. Niculescu


The Editor-in-Chief, Professor S.S. Dragomir together with the judging panel congratulate the five worthy nominated papers and the winner:

Professor C.P. Niculescu




R.P. Agarwal
G. Anastassiou
T. Ando
H. Araki
A.G. Babenko
D. Bainov
N.S. Barnett
H. Bor
J. Borwein
P.S. Bullen
P. Cerone
S.H. Cheng
L. Debnath
S.S. Dragomir
N. Elezovic
A.M. Fink
A. Fiorenza
T. Furuta
L. Gajek
H. Gauchman
C. Giordano
F. Hansen
D. Hinton
A. Laforgia
L. Leindler
C.-K. Li
L. Losonczi 
A. Lupas
R. Mathias
T. Mills
G.V. Milovanovic
R.N. Mohapatra
B. Mond
M.Z. Nashed
C.P. Niculescu
I. Olkin
B. Opic
B. Pachpatte
Z. Pales
C.E.M. Pearce
J. Pecaric
L.-E. Persson
L. Pick
I. Pressman
S. Puntanen
F. Qi
A.G. Ramm
T.M. Rassias
A. Rubinov
S. Saitoh
J. Sandor
S.P. Singh
A. Sofo
H.M. Srivastava
K.B. Stolarsky
G.P.H. Styan
L. Toth
R. Verma
F. Zhang

© 2000 School of Communications and Informatics, Victoria University of Technology. All rights reserved.
JIPAM is published by the School of Communications and Informatics which is part of the Faculty of Engineering and Science, located in Melbourne, Australia. All correspondence should be directed to the editorial office.